Daily Archives: November 8, 2008

Obamaha, Obaha, Omaba, ‘Tevs

Suck it Nebraska, Obama just won one of your electoral votes.  This is the first time that one of the two states that splits its votes (Maine is the other) actually split its vote.  Since McCain will probably walk away with Missouri (suck it, bellwether), it appears the final electoral tally will be 365-173.  A poetic total for Obama, in a way.

I like anything that chips away at the stupidity of the electoral college, and to see it come from an otherwise crazy-right-wing locale is kind of nice.

On the subject, tangentially, of Maine, I just watched The Mist and it had two scenes that were pretty damn suspenseful.  Of course, I thought War of the Worlds was one of Spielberg’s better movies (not a fan, in general) and I insist that Halloween is totally not scary.  My boyfriend thinks Frank Daramont is a lesser demon of some sort, but I thought it was a pretty good adaptation: quite faithful, except for the end, which dispenses with the original story’s optimistic non-resolution for something more fucked up.  I guess the length of a novella makes it ideally suited to become a screenplay and satisfy the Fanboys.  Anyway: Obama won something and scary movies are good.