Daily Archives: December 29, 2008

Quizzes

I haven’t tried booking a flight with jetpunk yet (it merely aggregates expedia, kayak, priceline, etc.) but at least their internet-1.0 style format contains fun quizzes.

I am really bad at naming sports teams, even after doing it several times.

Who knew that Arlington, TX was the 50th biggest city in the US?  And St. Louis, which used to be the 4th biggest city at the time it hosted the Summer Olympics in 1904, is now merely #52, right behind Wichita.  What’s really strange is that 22 of the top 50 are in six southwestern states: CA, TX, AZ, NV,  NM and CO.  Mesa, AZ is in the list–probably the biggest suburb in the country, unless Long Beach, CA counts.

Either way, Mississauga, Ontario is the biggest suburb in North America, but I’d be surprised if 1 in 10 Americans have even heard of it.  It’s awesome that large Canadian suburbs have their own separate skylines, incidentally.  Surrey, British Columbia does…but I can’t find a picture to prove it.

Best of ’08

The funniest thing I remember reading all year.

Also, “LEGGS” was a down clue in yesterday’s NYT crossword.  My ’09 resolution is to have that retroactively refer to me.