Daily Archives: December 4, 2008

The Penny Saver Inn

dsc_0045

This was the last night on our three week road trip before reaching San Francisco.  It’s Crescent City, CA, which I thought would be bigger, although the houses have a sort of Bermuda feel to them.  They’re small, neat, close together and pastel.  (I only took pictures during golden hour, when pastels don’t always shine through.)

Crescent City, not too cute that it’s got bed and breakfasts littering everything, has a spectacular coastline but the only thing to eat at 8pm was a $5 Subway foot-long, the existence of which prevented us from eating burgers every night for 3 weeks.

Interestingly, Crescent City is the seat of Del Norte County along the Oregon border, the “Northern Gate to the Golden State,” which was the only coastal California county besides Orange County to prefer McCain to Obama.  (The three SW-most counties on the Pacific in Oregon were also red; from there north, it’s a line of blue straight up to Canada).  Of course, it only has a population of 27,000, making it the least populous coastal county in the state.

picture-3

Seems to me that the relevant political dichotomy of California (with the exception of Orange County) should be Coastal vs. Inland, rather than North vs. South.  But what do I know–I just moved here.

In any case, it’s way pretty and shit.

Gmail Briefs Jam

I like the Gmail’s new options. I never thought about it before, but this was long overdue. Most of them are totally gross and stupid, but I think I chose the best one (sampled here with an appropriate email from Stuff White People Like):

picture-1

I picked it because it looks like a pair of underwears that I own which has drawn attention at fun gay bars in the past.

Continue reading