Daily Archives: January 15, 2009

I Would Have Liked to Have a Beer With Him, If Only to Mess with An Alcoholic’s Head

So Bush’s farewell speech was tonight.  I can’t think of anything I care about less.  Planes are crashing in the Hudson and even Bank of America is getting some cash from the govt.  If the speech had Sarah Palin in it, I’d be all over it, but I honestly can’t even work up getting my feathers ruffled about W. anymore.  He fucked up everything, we all know it, the percentage of people who think he did a good job (27%) is exactly the number who disapprove of Obama’s transition, so we have a good estimate on the number of incomprehensibly stupid assholes among the adult population (seems low to me).

In the most charitable spirit I can muster, if I had to think of one good thing the Bush Administration did, it would be expanding Daylight Savings Time a month at either end.  That was rad, even if it gave me a 23-hr birthday this year.  I doubt anyone in the White House really put a lot of thought into it, but it happened on their watch.  So, um, thanks, George.  Now get the fuck to Dallas and get bored!

Five more days.  Say it with me: President Obama.