Daily Archives: January 19, 2009

Garage D’or

I took a walk through a new (new to me, that is) nabe in SF: Silver Terrace/Bayview. I’m not really sure where one ends and the other begins, but they look a lot like L.A.

3rd Street, the main drag and the street with the newest Muni streetcar line (the T) reminded me of Brooklyn. It had a lot of pedestrian traffic, more than almost any other non-downtown spot in this city. It seems the further you go from the expensive neighborhoods in the North of San Francisco, the more colorful things get. Silver Terrace was no exception. It’s a multiethnic area, and Bayview seems to be almost entirely black and Latino, which is why “nobody” goes there. And also why it’s pretty awesome. The houses are very well maintained, but that’s nothing new for San Francisco.

Le GarAge D’or:

dsc_0004

dsc_0011

dsc_0024

dsc_0025

dsc_0026

dsc_0028

There were so many more, but a lot of them had cars or people in the driveway, and I just don’t have Diane Arbus’s chutzpah. It’s so not a scary neighborhood whatsoever, and it’s more visually interesting than the pale-and-tan swaths of town I could never afford.